RIBA Plan of Work

The RIBA Plan of Work organises the process of briefing, designing, constructing and operating building projects into eight stages and explains the stage outcomes, core tasks and information exchanges required at each stage.

It was revised in 2013 followed by another revision in 2020.

The RIBA Plan of Work 2013 comprises of eight separate RIBA work stages that each address a required phase of a construction projects progression, from inception through to completion. It has been significantly amended which permits for more than just the traditional method of procurement, allows for more diverse roles and teams and has introduced a new stage both before design and after construction.


The work stages have also been renamed and restructured from the 2007 alphabetised version to the now numerical system shown below:

0 – Strategic definition. (New addition)

1 – Preparation and brief.

2 – Concept design.

3 – Developed design.

4 – Technical design.

5 – Construction.

6 – Handover and close out.

7 – In use. (New addition)

After nearly seven years of feedback, gathered by the RIBA, from the construction industry. It now includes an expanded glossary, comparison to international plan of work equivalents and guidance on the following core project strategies:

  • Conservation Strategy
  • Cost Strategy
  • Fire Safety Strategy
  • Health and Safety Strategy
  • Inclusive Design Strategy
  • Planning Strategy
  • Plan for Use Strategy
  • Procurement Strategy
  • Sustainability Strategy

Depends on the sizes and types of the projects, Shinz Design adapt the RIBA Plan of Works in our service provision as RIBA Practice.